Michael Urie received an Obie for his performance in Labyrinth Theater’s production of Homos, or Everyone in America at the 62nd Obie Awards on May 22nd at Webster Hall. Written by Jordan Seavey and directed by Mike Donahue, Homos ran at the Bank Street Theater from October 20th to December 11th. Urie won the Obie for playing The Writer, a neurotic and charming novelist whose academic boyfriend (played by Robin De Jesús) is the victim of a hate crime. In his acceptance speech, Urie drew attention to the rise in hate crimes directed against the LGBT community since the election of Donald Trump and spoke about the importance of family in helping to survive these tough times.

Dane LaffreyAdditionally set designer Dane Laffrey and lighting designer Scott Zielinski both won Obies for Sustained Excellence in part for their work on Homos. Labyrinth Company Member and beloved New York actor Kevin Geer also received a posthumous award for Sustained Excellence.

The Obie Awards were created by Jerry Tallmer in 1955, soon after the first publication of the Village Voice, to publicly acknowledge and encourage the growing Off-Broadway theater movement. The Obies were purposely structured with informal categories to recognize persons and productions worthy of distinction in each theater season. The Obie Awards are an important part of the long history of championing Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway. In 2015 the American Theatre Wing joined the Village Voice to co-present the Obie Awards and salute excellence in off-Broadway and off-off Broadway theater.

For a full list of the 2017 Obie Winners go to www.obieawards.com.